AWFJ To Present Special Awards To Women Directors At Cinema St. Louis SLIFF 2012 – We Are Movie Geeks


AWFJ To Present Special Awards To Women Directors At Cinema St. Louis SLIFF 2012

By  | 

Being a member of the Alliance of Women Film Journalists, I’m pleased to announce that at the 2012 St. Louis International Film Festival, five documentaries are in competition for our EDA Award for Best Documentary Directed by a Women.

The EDA Award will be presented at the St Louis International Film Festival’s closing ceremonies on November 18, 2012, along with the EDA Award for Best Narrative Feature Directed by A Woman. The Alliance of Women Film Journalists members on the documentary award jury are Monika Bartyzel (, Jeanne Wolf (Parade Magazine), Karen Krizanovich (Radio Times), Jette Kernion ( and myself. For more on the awards:

The films are:

  • Her Master’s Voice – Directed by Nina Conti, UK – All about truth in ventriloquism!
  • The Perfect Victim – Directed by Elizabeth Rohrbaugh (US) – A film about women who were convicted of murdering their husbands, without being allowed to inform the court that they were victims of spousal violence and abuse.
  • Seeking Asian Female – Debbie Lum (US) – The filmmaker follows an American white guy who trolls the Intenet to find an Asian bride, and does.
  • We Women Warriors – Nicole Karsin (US) – Three strong and determined tribal women in rural Colombia struggle to keep their people and culture alive in the face of growing political instability and violence towards indiginous peoples.
  • The World Before Her – Nisha Pahuja (Canada) – Traditional and contemporary culture clash in India, where the filmmaker follows young women who endure a month-long beauty boot camp so they can compete in the Miss India beauty pageant and those who go to Hindu training camps to learn traditional women’s roles and martial arts to defend their faith against infidels.

The Alliance of Women Film Journalists also presented EDA Awards for Best Documentary Directed by A Women at Salem Film Fest and Sheffield Doc/Fest earlier this year. AWFJ was founded in 2006 by Jennifer Merin, Maitland McDonagh, Joanna Langfield, and Jenny Halper. Its members are women movie critics, reporters, and feature writers working in print, broadcast, and online media.

AWFJ’s purpose is to support work by and about women – both in front of and behind the cameras – through intra-group promotional activities, outreach programs, and presentation of the annual EDA Awards in recognition of outstanding accomplishments by and about women in the movies. AWFJ has now expanded the EDA Awards program to include presentation of woman-oriented awards at outstanding film festivals. The EDAs are named in honor of AWFJ founder Jennifer Merin’s mother, Eda Reiss Merin, a stage, film, and television actress whose career spanned more than 60 years.

Now in its 21st year, the Whitaker St. Louis International Film Festival (SLIFF) is one of the largest international film festivals in the Midwest. This year’s SLIFF will be held Nov. 8-18, 2012. SLIFF’s main venues are the Hi-Pointe Theatre, Tivoli Theatre, Plaza Frontenac Cinema, Webster University’s Winifred Moore Auditorium, Washington University’s Brown Hall Auditorium and the Wildey Theatre in Edwawrdsville, IL. SLIFF showcases the best in cutting-edge features and shorts from around the globe. The majority of the more than 400 films screened – many of them critically lauded award-winners – will receive their only St. Louis exposure at the festival. The schedule of films, events and guests are now posted and tickets at most venues are on sale now.

(PHOTO: Alliance of Women Film Journalists logo. Courtesy Alliance of Women Film Journalists.)

Huge passion for film scores, lives for the Academy Awards, loves movie trailers. That is all.